To the field: Israel wins 12-10

PRAGUE, CZECH REPUBLIC — The Israel men’s national team topped the Euro Stars, 12-10, on Tuesday at SCC Radotin.

Team Israel is preparing for the 2016 Men’s European Field Championships, which are being held this summer in Budapest, Hungary. While the all eyes in the international lacrosse community are on Radotin, Czech Republic this week for the largest box lacrosse tournament in Europe, the blue-and-white took advantage of the opportunity, utilizing their day off to evaluate and prepare for the Euro Field Championships.

Ireland’s Sean Gibson, who serves as Box Lacrosse Coordinator for the European Lacrosse Federation, organized the Euro Stars — which was comprised of athletes from Europe and beyond, including some talneted players from Alberta, Canada.

Team Euro scored first and led 5-3 after the first quarter, but the Israelis chipped away and tied the game at 7-7 at the half.

A balanced attack helped Israel build a 10-8 lead after three quarters, and the blue-and-white were able to hold on for the win.

Kyle Bergman (three goals, three assists), Franklin Pargh (three goals, one assist) and Aaron Mathias (three goals) led Israel, while Bryan Hopper (two goals, one assist), Aaron Feinberg (one goal) and Joshua Bernstein (one assist) also chipped in.

Jarno Aaltonen (Finland), Klaus Hauer (Austria), Erik Turner (Canada) and Greg Bouret (Scotland) scored two goals apiece for Team Euro.

Bank Hapoalim USA Most Valuable Player Andrew Landsman (65:00, 10 saves, 10 GA) earned the win in goal for Israel.

Additional caps – Mookie Alderman, Danny Bialosky, Bradley Diamond, Chris Friedman, Eric Kansky, Avraham Kolel, Cooper Levitan, Seth Mahler, Jonathan Rathauser, Glen Tobin