Roster, Schedule announced for New Years Cup

ASHDOD, ISRAEL — Ashdod LC, the first Israeli club to participate in the New Years Cup, has announced their roster and schedule for their January 6-8, 2017 slate at Vasas Sports Center in Budapest, Hungary.

The “Dolphins” will see pool play action against the host Budapest Blax, Tribesmen Erlangen (Germany), and the Vienna Monarchs (Austria). The top two finishers will advance to the four-team Championship Pool.

Competing in the tournament in the opposite fixture are clubs from Latvia (Mitava LC), Poland (Developmental Team), Slovokia (Tricksters LC) and Switzerland (Toblerone LC).

18 M Alon Bechor Ashdod, Israel
19 F Jake Plantowsky Bellaire, TX
21 M Ori Bar David Netanya, Israel
24 F Afik Ibgui Ashdod, Israel
34 G Vladzimir Behunov Ashdod, Israel
39 D Ofir Nissim Ashdod, Israel
42 M David Geber Ashdod, Israel
44 F Mor Cohen Tel Aviv, Israel
58 D Arthur Perelman Ashdod, Israel
70 M Erez Abouhasira Ashdod, Israel
74 D Matan Noam Ashdod, Israel
76 F Ronen Bisyakov Ashdod, Israel
78 D Niv Shneor Ashdod, Israel
99 M František Klíma Prague, Czech Republic

Me’et Machleef: Andrew Copeland, Seth Mahler, Jacob Silberlicht

Israel Lax staffers Andrew Copeland (G), Seth Mahler (M) and Jacob Silberlicht (M) will be manning the sidelines for Ashdod, and are eligible to hit the turf for the otherwise young squad if circumstances dictate.

Friday, January 6th

2:25 PM – Ashdod vs Budapest Blax
5:40 PM – Ashdod vs Vienna Monarchs
7:50 PM – Ashdod vs Tribesmen Erlangen

Fixtures for the remainder of the tournament will be released following play on Friday. The third-place match is scheduled for 3:35 PM Sunday, while the first-place match is scheduled for 4:40 PM Sunday.