Israel splits weekend slate in Baltimore

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND — The Israel women’s and men’s national team both went 1-1 in Fall competition this weekend at the Israel Lacrosse Baltimore Showcase event.

The Israel women, who are preparing for the 2017 FIL Women’s World Cup, headlined the event, opened the weekend with a 12-9 loss at Loyola, before topping M&D Lacrosse Club, 18-14, in a high-scoring affair on Sunday.

Rachel Ozer (three goals) and Jessi Steinberg (one goal, three assists) powered the blue-and-white on Friday at Ridley Athletic Complex, as the Israelis trailed big early but clawed back into the game. Loyola jumped out to a 4-0 advantage, but Israel scored five straight goals to take a 6-5 advantage in the second half. The game was tied 7-7, before Loyola went on another four-goal run to take an 11-7 lead.

Sarah Andersen (two goals), Kim Dubansky (one goal, one assist), Ali Steinberg (one goal) and Hallie Keselman (one goal) also scored, while Ali Curwin and Jayme Verman each chipped in an assist. Alex Freedman (30:00, 3 saves, 5 GA) and Kate Goldstein (30L009, 3 saves, 7 GA) split time in goal; Goldstein was dealt the loss.

Jessi Steinberg was unstoppable on Sunday, scoring five goals and an assist to lead the Israelis past M&D at the McDonogh School on Sunday.

Rachel Ozer had another big game with four goals, while Jayme Verman (two goals, two assists), Amanda Tuck (two goals, one assist) and Abby Baigelman (two assists) also had multi-point days.

Israel had trouble containing the speed of their younger opponents in a first half that had six lead changes and finished in a 7-7 tie. However, the blue-and-white used their size and depth to take command of the game in the second half. Trailing 9-8, Israel scored three straight goals and never relinquished the lead.

Ali Steinberg, Sarah Andersen and Emma Lazaroff added singles while Kim Dubansky chipped in an assist for Israel. Kate Goldstein (30:00, 2 saves, 7 GA) and Alex Freedman (30:00, 7 saves, 7 GA) split time in goal; Freedman was credited the win.

The Israel men saw action on Saturday night, splitting a late-night doubleheader with a 7-6 win over University of Tokyo and an 8-4 loss against Towson at Johnny Unitas Stadium.

Ryan Hunter scored three goals to lead Israel past University of Tokyo, 7-6, in the opener of the doubleheader.

The Blue Bullets opened the scoring at 32 seconds, before the Israelis scored two straight goals to snag the lead. The game featured six lead changes, culminating with a three-goal run for the blue-and-white to give them a 7-5 lead that the Japanese squad could not overcome.

Dan Leventhal (one goal, one assist), Seth Mahler (one goal), Josh Offit (one goal) and Zach Penfil (one goal) also chipped in on offense, while Matthew Cherry added an assist.

Dan Kaufman (23:24, 2 saves, 5 GA) and Eric Schneider (16:36, 5 saves, 1 GA) split time in goal; Schenider was credited the win.

In game two, Josh Offit scored three goals and Dan Leventhal added one as 2016 NCAA Quarterfinalist Towson defeated Israel, 8-4. Eric Schneider (17:00, 4 saves, 4 GA), Andrew Landsman (16:12, 5 saves, 3 GA) and David Metzger (4:48, 1 save, 1 GA) all saw action; Landsman was dealt the loss.

FCA defeated the Israel Masters team, 16-12, on Saturday evening at Towson.

The Showcase was held to raise awareness and funds for the development of youth lacrosse in Ashkelon, which is sister cities with Baltimore. 12 of the 18 players who competed for Israel in the 2015 U-19 Women’s World Championship hail from the Israeli coastal city.

Caps x2 (women): Sarah Andersen, Abby Baigelman, Jenna Baverman, Samantha Blicht, Ali Curwin, Kim Dubansky, Alex Freedman, Kate Goldstein, Leah Israel, Erika Keselman, Hallie Keselman, Emma Lazaroff, Megan Lerner, Allie Martin, Sarah Meisenberg, Rachel Minarovich, Blaire Nathanson, Rachel Ozer, Ellie Rosenblum, Ali Steinberg, Jessi Steinberg, Amanda Tuck, Melinda Vasconcellos, Jayme Verman

Caps x2 (men): Matthew Cherry, Austin Eiseman, Aaron Feinberg, Chris Friedman, Ryan Hunter, Mark Jutkowitz, Dan Kaufman, Charlie Kolkin, Andrew Kruter, Andrew Landsman, Dan Leventhal, Seth Mahler, David Metzger, Josh Offit, Zach Penfil, Andrew Pollack, Eric Schneider, Josh Schwartz, Glen Tobin, Brad Wollman