Israel announces roster for WILC2015

NETANYA, ISRAEL — Israel Lacrosse has announced their 23-man roster for the Israel men’s national team which will compete at the 2015 FIL World Indoor Lacrosse Championships, hosted by the Iroquois Nationals at Onondaga Nation near Syracuse, NY, from September 18-27.

The event marks Israel’s debut in the quadrennial World Indoor Championships, following a seventh-place finish at the World Field Championships last year in Denver. The blue-and-white join 12 other countries who are vying for a Gold Medal on the traditional homelands of the Haudenosaunee.

While field lacrosse is the more popular version of the sport in Israel, mostly due to a lack of proper box lacrosse facilities, Barak Netanya Lacrosse Club has been holding clinics and practices regularly at Poleg Sportek, and recently announced renovation plans inspired by LCC Radotín’s box lacrosse facilities on the outskirts of Prague, Czech Republic.

Israel is in a pool with fellow newcomers Serbia and Germany, as well as 7th-ranked Ireland. The top two teams in the pool advance to the playoff rounds.

Fri, Sep 18 at 9:30 AM – Israel vs. Serbia (Onondaga Nation Arena)
Sat, Sep 19 at 7:30 PM – Israel vs. Germany (Gahόnhsӓ Pavilion)
Sun, Sep 20 at 12:30 PM – Israel vs. #7 Ireland (Gahόnhsӓ Pavilion)
**Playoffs begin on September 21st

Serbia, who made their international debut at a training event in Germany in April, surprised many with a rough-and-tough style of play. While the core of the team has limited lacrosse experience period — box or field — Serbia’s roster is expected to include a handful of men with NLL experience, including brothers Ilija and Alex Gajic, Nik Bilic, and others.

The Germans have high hopes for their World Indoor debut, with a strong core of box lacrosse veterans leading their squad. Jamie Plunkett, who led Czech Republic to their best finish ever with 20 points in the 2011 World Indoors, has resided in Berlin over the past few years and has transferred internationally to Germany. European box veterans such as Artjom Meriasch, Wolfgang Grießl, and Brendan Shea strengthen the German roster, while Tyler Glebe, who has experience playing in Western Canada, will man the goal for the Germans.

7th-ranked Ireland is headlined by NLL stars Stephen Keogh and Andrew McBride, along with a strong supporting cast that has worked to build their indoor experience. Brian Gillis, who recorded 13 points for Ireland is back as well as Kevin Owens, who put up nine, and veteran Sean Gibson. Mike Cregan, who impressed in a training event in Czech Republic earlier this year, will man the goal.

In conjunction with the Israel Lacrosse Tzedakah Program, each player will be competing in honor of a charity of their choosing. The men’s national indoor team has chosen to devote their entire fundraising effort towards the “Rock the Box” campaign, which seeks to transform Poleg Sportek’s roller-hockey rink into a modern box lacrosse facility inspired by LCC Radotín.

00 D Daniel Devery Tel Aviv, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya
3 F Matthew Cherry Tel Aviv, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya
4 D Benjamin Smith Boston, MA Rock the Box: Netanya
5 M Casey Cittadino Baldwin, NY Rock the Box: Netanya
11 M Bryan Hopper Netanya, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya
13 M Kevin Harper Oakville, ON Rock the Box: Netanya
14 F Michael Stone Wellesley, MA Rock the Box: Netanya
17 M Tate Price Littleton, CO Rock the Box: Netanya
18 M Seth Mahler Ashkelon, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya
19 F Chad Culp Arthur, ON Rock the Box: Netanya
20 M Cole McCormack Rye, NY Rock the Box: Netanya
21 D Dalton Lundy Brooklin, ON Rock the Box: Netanya
23 M Daniel Deckelbaum Baltimore, MD Rock the Box: Netanya
27 D Adam Crystal Baldwin, NY Rock the Box: Netanya
31 G Zachary Higgins Courtice, ON Rock the Box: Netanya
32 F Daniel Leventhal Chappaqua, NY Rock the Box: Netanya
35 G Andrew Copeland Netanya, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya
40 M Matthew Flapan Ramla, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya
41 F Noah Miller Tel Aviv, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya
43 M Kyle Bergman New York, NY Rock the Box: Netanya
56 M Harrison Freid Needham, MA Rock the Box: Netanya
77 M Jacob Silberlicht Tel Aviv, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya
91 M Chase Clark Netanya, Israel Rock the Box: Netanya

Me’et Machleef: Alec Aloni, Josh Berger, Danny Bialosky, Adam Culbertson, Benjamin Herman, Michael Horowitz, Frantisek Klima, Garrett Naimie, Zachary Pall

General Manager: Bill Beroza
Head Coach: Brad MacArthur
Assistant Coaches: Jason Crosbie, David Dennenberg
Director of Player Personnel: Chaka Bainbridge
Physical Therapy: Yoni Rosenblatt
Athletic Trainer: Michael Boisselle
Equipment Manager: Dave Murray
Scout: Chris Leone