Barak Netanya clinches WIPLL title on league’s final day

Be'er Sheva played spoiler on Tuesday, topping Ashkelon, 11-6 at Shapira Field.
Be’er Sheva played spoiler on Tuesday, topping Ashkelon, 11-6 at Shapira Field.

NETANYA, ISRAEL — Despite a 9-7 setback to Ashkelon, Barak Netanya LC clinched the inaugural WIPLL Championship on Tuesday morning as the season wrapped up with a doubleheader at Shapira Field.

When all of the dust settled, the three clubs were tied with a 2-2 record; Netanya was awarded the title on tiebreakers with the most favorable goal differential.

The 2017 season featured a double round-robin schedule between the three teams. The “Bolts” had a pair of big wins earlier in the season, defeating Ashkelon 12-6 and Be’er Sheva 19-4.

On Tuesday, Netanya had the opportunity to control their own destiny, but couldn’t overcome Ashkelon. The Steinberg twins — Ali and Jessi — combined for seven goals for the “Fighting Alephs”, while Chasia Warshow and Rachel Minarovich added singles in the 9-7 win.

Official Boxscore
Official Boxscore

A victory in the second match of the doubleheader would have given the Championship to Ashkelon, but a fresh Be’er Sheva club toppled them, 11-6. Julie Wise scored four goals and two assists, while Samantha Nemirov added four goals and one assist. Be’er Sheva raced to a 9-3 lead and never looked back.

Official Boxscore
Official Boxscore

Netanya’s Emma Lazaroff, who scored 14 goals and an assist in four games, was named League MVP.

The 2018 Women’s Israel Premier Lacrosse League season will be held in conjunction with the FIL Men’s World Lacrosse Championships, and will welcome back all three teams, as well as club (“festival”) teams from abroad. For more information, please contact [email protected].