Israel announces U-19 World Team roster

ASHKELON, ISRAEL — Israel Lacrosse has announced their 46-man roster for the first-ever Israel U-19 men’s national team to compete on the world stage.

Variations of the team will compete in a series of training events in both the United States and Israel, culminating at an International Lacrosse Showcase in Philadelphia from May 28-30, and the 2016 FIL World Championships, held in Vancouver from July 7-16.

The roster is announced following January’s tryouts in Ashkelon, Israel, and is composed of both Israeli players, as well as members of the Jewish diaspora, in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL).

Israel’s debut in the quadrennial U-19 Men’s World Championships marks the completion of the national program’s “first cycle”. The Israel Lacrosse Association first competed on the world stage at the 2013 FIL Women’s World Cup, and has appeared in every world event since, including at the Men’s, Men’s Indoor and Women’s U-19 divisions. Israel is the first country to achieve the feat in it’s “first cycle”, and is one of only eight FIL members who compete in every World Championship, joining the likes of established lacrosse superpowers Australia, Canada, England, Finland, Germany, Iroquois and USA.

The blue-and-white will hold their first training session on March 24th in Ashkelon, followed by a two-day camp in New York from April 9-10.

Also announced today was the appointment of Daniel Leventhal, who scored nine goals for Israel at the 2014 Men’s World Championships, to Seth Mahler’s coaching staff.

1 F Ori Miron Tel Aviv, Israel
2 F Nicholas Schulkin San Rafael, CA
4 F Zachary Horowitz Manhattan Beach, CA
5 M Dan Shelanski Denver, CO
6 G Jakob Katzen Wilmington, DE
7 M Sagi Hashai Netanya, Israel
8 F Dor Ben Or Netanya, Israel
9 D Rakan Aboneaaj Nazareth, Israel
10 M Sage Banashek Boulder, CO
11 F Itamar Arad Ashkelon, Israel
12 M Alex Mihailov Ashkelon, Israel
13 M Ethan Kruteck Boulder, CO
14 M Greg Bortnick Mission, KS
15 G Yarin Yahalom Netanya, Israel
16 M Adam Hilelly Ramat Ef’al, Israel
17 F Jake Plantowsky Bellaire, TX
18 F Alon Berkowitz Haifa, Israel
19 D Jared Rubin Carmel, NY
20 D Hayden Edelson Great Neck, NY
21 D Samuel Dubner New York, NY
22 M Yotam Drori Ashkelon, Israel
23 M Liron Glam Netanya, Israel
24 D Ben Scharf Worcester, MA
26 M Alon Bechor Ashdod, Israel
25 M Lidor-Or Ashtamkar Ramle, Israel
27 M Yanai Bitman Tel Aviv, Israel
29 D Dima Bondarenko Netanya, Israel
31 G David Metzger Mendham, NJ
32 F Shimon Smirnov Tel Aviv, Israel
35 M Ron Bentura Netanya, Israel
36 M Tyler Brown-Ortiz Milford, CT
37 D Daniel Simpson Parker, CO
41 G Jonah Hirshorn Tel Aviv, Israel
42 D Noah Knopf New York, NY
49 M Zachary Ornstein Howell, NJ
51 M Mor Cohen Tel Aviv, Israel
53 M Ori Bar David Netanya, Israel
57 M Benor Buniel Ashkelon, Israel
60 D Bar Yahalom Netanya, Israel
75 M Maor Kapach Kiryat Gat, Israel
77 F Daniel Sussingham Lakeland, FL
82 D Moshiko Aviv Ashkelon, Israel
88 M Adi Comarov Ashkelon, Israel
91 D Evyatar Davidi Netanya, Israel
95 D Ilay Mashash Ashkelon, Israel
99 M Joshua Bernstein Netanya, Israel

Me’et Machleef: Ido Almog, Sol Benishay, Arden Cohen, Ilan Hascal, Samuel Hecht, Joseph Kean, Ofir Kenan, Or Krozman, Daniel Obreja, Samuel Roth, Netzach Yosef

Head Coach: Seth Mahler
Assistant Coaches: Michael Horowitz, Daniel Leventhal, Jeffrey Schwartz

Photo Credit: Sportpic Israel