IPLL 2017 Award Winners announced

TEL AVIV, ISRAEL — 15 players took home a piece of hardware in a ceremony at the IPLL Championship Game in Tel Aviv earlier this month, including Be’er Sheva faceoff specialist Sam Miles, who was named Bank Hapoalim League MVP. Miles — who is a member of the Wales men’s national team — was steady all season, but dominant in the IPLL Final, winning 18-of-20 draws in Be’er Sheva’s 13-9 win over Ashkelon.

Haifa LC forward Daniel Kravit was named Epoch Offensive Player of the Year. The Roanoke College star led the league in scoring with 31 points on 23 goals and eight assists.

Sderot’s Eric Cantor was named EL AL Defensive Player of the Year. The Albany graduate anchored a gritty defensive unit for the Sderot club and also added two goals in transition.

Barak Netanya LC’s Marcus Freeman was presented the Sticks For Kids Sportsmanship Award in recognition of his overwhelming commitment to the development of the sport of lacrosse in Israel. Freeman was a team player all season, while maintaining the highest level of respect for the sport on and off of the field.

Freeman’s teammate, Harel Ben Harush, was named IPLL Rookie of the Year, in recognizing the top Israeli high school “call up” player. The 16-year-old saw extensive action on defense, appearing in every game for the “Bolts”.

Ashkelon’s Tommy Goldman was honored as the IPLL Coach of the Year. Goldman took the Southern club to the IPLL Final for the first time, winning four nailbiters by one or two goals apiece.

First Team All-Israel
Lane Kadish, Be’er Sheva
Jake Levine, Ashdod
Ian Mills, Kiryat Gat
Bryan Rotatori, Ashkelon
Jacob Silberlicht, Sderot
Daniel Applebaum, Netanya
Jonathan Rathauser, Ashdod
Joshua Karp, Herzliya
Isaac Paparo, Herzliya
Ted Bergman, Haifa
Sam Miles, Be’er Sheva